The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has announced that changes will start in 2018.

According to WTEN, the driver's licenses, that starting next year will no longer be accepted as proof of identity include, Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington.

Signs have started to show up in airports across the U.S. The signs state that, "Starting January 22, 2018, you will need a driver’s license or ID from a state compliant with the Real ID Act."

The issue with the state given drivers licenses is with the Department of Homeland Security’s Real ID act, which requires states to adopt better security measures for driver’s licenses to help prevent terrorism.

Federal regulations require driver’s licenses to contain anti counterfeit technology and require states to verify an applicant’s identity and the 9 states mentioned do not have those measures in affect as of now.

If you or someone you know has ID issued from any of the 9 states, you will be required to use alternative identification, such as passport, military ID, if you want to fly anywhere in the US next year.

More From WZAD-WCZX The Wolf