The 141st running of The Preakness is being held today and Kentucky Derby winner Nyquist is on the grounds ready to run. This 1 and 3/16 of a mile race for three year old thoroughbreds is the second race of three in the Triple Crown series a named coined in 1930. The first race, The Kentucky Derby is held on the first Saturday in May. The Preakness follow two weeks later. Then the Belmont three weeks after in June.

In Kentucky horses run for the roses in Maryland they run for Black-Eyed Susans and the New York winner is draped in Carnations. As for the signature beverages The Derby has The Mint Julep, The Preakness is celebrated with  The Black-Eye Susan and at the Belmont the attendees enjoy a what is now the new official drink of the day The Belmont Jewel which replaced the Belmont Breeze in 2012.

This year's Preakness is a field of 11 with a few Derby horses hoping to deny Nyquist his second leg of the Triple Crown. Last Year American Pharoah became only the 12th horse in history to take all three races. Until American Pharoah last year we hadn't had a Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978. So will Nyquist be able to go all the way and give us back to back Triple Crown winners. A Nyquist win today at the Preakness sure would make for an exciting Belmont.  The Race will be broadcast by NBC at 6:45 pm EDT.

More From WZAD-WCZX The Wolf